• Mind Club
  • Posts
  • mindful consumption, digital decluttering & financial wellness

mindful consumption, digital decluttering & financial wellness

Hi human,

Welcome to the first edition of Mind Club. Every week I write about a few ideas and curate content designed to spark curiosity, creativity, and inspiration.

Here’s what’s on my mind this week:

☁️ Mindful consumption

Lately I’ve been trying to be mindful about my content consumption. I’ll read, listen, or watch one thing and sit with the idea for awhile. Pausing and reflecting on one idea helps me form my own thoughts which I can later implement in my own life.

🌿 Why mindful consumption matters:
  • What you read is who you become. The quality of your content diet determines how you think about and see the world. If we think about our digital content diet the same way we think about the food we eat, we would consume less junk and choose content that nourishes the mind. (The Profile)


  • Calibrate your internal meter for greatness. When you consume high quality content, you can improve your ability to distinguish good from great, and determine what’s worthy of your time and attention. (The Creative Act: A Way of Being)


  • Distraction comes from within. Uncomfortable feelings often lead to distractions (such as mindless scrolling), but if we learn to sit with internal triggers that lead to distraction we can evolve into our ideal selves. (Indistractable)

❇️ Tips for mindful consumption:
  1. Save ideas. Keep a document for content you want to remember. You might even find connections between different ideas. Apps like Notion, mymind, and Melon are powerful tools for saving content.

  2. Set intentional limits. Too much information can lead to analysis paralysis. Although it’s tempting to keep searching for more information, setting an intentional limit can improve your productivity.

  3. Curate your information feed. The content you consume influences your thoughts, actions, and outputs. Find quality content and create an environment where you can easily be exposed to great ideas.

🌐 Digital decluttering

My digital space can feel like a mess sometimes. If I’m not on top of it, my mind ends up feeling cluttered and my productivity takes a hit as well.

Whenever I feel that way, I know it’s time to do a little tidying up. After all a clear space leads to a clear mind, and digital spaces are no exception.

💫 How I organize my digital space:
  1. Saving content on Melon. I save a lot of content on different apps, but they’re more of a random collection of links. Melon makes it easy to save and organize content related to specific skills. It’s like Pinterest but better. I got early access by signing up for their waitlist. Reply to this email for an invite!

  2. Spaces on Arc Browser. I’ve been loving the browser experience on Arc, especially the spaces feature for tabs. I have different spaces for tabs (work, fun, random, etc.) and can switch between them easily. Goodbye browser tab clutter.

  3. Optimizing my lock screen and home screen. I keep my phone organized by using the search feature instead of keeping all my apps on the home screen. Badges (the red notification circles) are off too so it feels less cluttered. I’m loving the Pinterest widget which displays pins from my personal vision board, and the Motivational quotes widget which displays different quotes every hour.

home screen and lock screen widgets

spaces on Arc browser

🫧 Financial Wellness Corner

Financial wellness is all about having healthy financial habits and a positive relationship with money.

In this corner, you can expect to find tips on financial wellness as well as deep dives into specific topics. If there's anything you'd like me to cover, feel free to reply and let me know!

There are two things every self-respecting adult has to have a basic grasp on, whether they’re interested in them or not: Health and finance. Doesn’t matter what you do for a living, both of those will bite you if you don’t pay attention to them.

Morgan Housel

When it comes to conversations about wellness, we often hear about the importance of exercise, hydration, meditation, and other practices to take care of our bodies and minds.

However, one category of wellness that we often overlook is our financial health.

Our relationship with money can have a significant impact on our overall well-being. In fact, a survey found that 42% of adults in the US report that money has a negative effect on their mental health (source).

Taking care of your financial health is just as important as physical and mental health.



💸 Tips for financial wellness:
  1. Learn how to invest. There’s a big difference between saving and investing. Your money doesn’t truly grow in a savings account, but when you invest you’re making money work for you. Investing involves ownership (in stocks, businesses, real estate, etc.) which is one way to separate your time from your income. 

  2. Start early. A dollar invested in your 20s is worth more than a dollar invested in your 30s. You don’t need a lot of money to begin investing. You’re rich in time, which is a powerful investing tool simply because of the magic of compounding.

  3. Have the right mindset. It takes time and patience to see substantial returns on investments. By having realistic expectations, you can weather the up and down cycles of the market and still reach your financial goals.

Disclaimer: The views expressed in this newsletter are for informational and recreational purposes only. Nothing contained in this newsletter should be construed as investment advice.

🪩 Internet Finds

Dreams as AI prompts. If you ever need ideas for an AI art generator, try using your dreams as prompts. I usually keep a journal for my dreams, but visualizing them using an art generator sounds like a good idea 👀 

That’s all for now. If you want to chat about any part of this newsletter, let me know what’s on your mind by replying to this email. ᵕ̈

Thank you for reading!

Karina

Reply

or to participate.